Shame and Vulnerability – Brené Brown TEDx

The response to yesterday’s article was . . . unexpected.  I wrote the first part to this article about a month and a half ago, slowly working on the wording and the way I presented my story, with a consistent struggle to stay real and not try to be strong.  I kept thinking of different ways people would be able to poke at me through my words to show how my decisions were based on a weakness or misunderstanding or something else, and I had to fight consistently to not include preemptive defenses to things people might say.  I wanted to stay honest, and just express myself, and that was difficult.  I’m so glad I did!

Doing so seems to have resonated with a lot of people, which makes me so sincerely happy.  In spite of my fears, I have not, as of yet, received one negative comment (though I’m fully expecting it, still.  I guess I’m a little jaded).

I’d like to talk about this topic a little more – shame and vulnerability.  One commenter on Reddit asked if I had read any Brené Brown, who has done years of research into shame and vulnerability, and apparently has some amazing things to say about it.

Wow, I’m so glad he or she did so.  Here’s a 20-minute TEDx video that you need to watch.

 

Early next week, I’ll be posting other people’s stories about feeling shame, guilt, and unworthiness within the LDS Church.  I’m hoping for stories from both ex-Mormons and Mormons – what it was like, what led up to it, and how things got better (if they did.  Maybe they didn’t, which is fine as well).  I’ll also be posting something I wrote a few weeks ago, which I didn’t think I’d share for quite a long time . . . as part of an effort to become more vulnerable and genuine.

If you’d like to do share your experience, click here to send me an email.  If I post your story, I can do so anonymously or with your name, whichever you’d prefer.

Happy vulnerability, friends!

What do you think?

