Wanted: Input and Sources on Mormon Polygamy

Hey all!  It’s been a little too long, I think, since my last post.  This last week and a half have been extremely busy and eventful (brother’s wedding in Utah, helping the girlfriend move to Texas, consolidating two people’s accumulated life into one small apartment . . . oh, and a new puppy), but we almost have everything settled and I’m very excited to get back to this conversation.

I’d like your help on something.  This Sunday (if all goes to plan) I’ll be posting my article on Polygamy.  My goal for this article is 100% historical accuracy.  I will accumulate sources and facts, quotes and official statements, to show what the doctrine and practice of polygamy was originally vs. what it is today and how church leaders have explained the changes as they happened.  I want to be as fair and open as possible and will be using trusted LDS sources such as familysearch.org and books by LDS historians as well as a few other trusted and historically accurate non-LDS sources.  The purpose of this article isn’t to interpret, necessarily, the changes that have come over the years.  I’m not going to engage in conjecture about the reasons for the change (I think a lot of people waste time talking about how the church had a “convenient revelation” to discontinue polygamy at a time of strong government pressure – whether or not that’s true we’re wasting time talking about it and we’ve all heard it before anyways), but will show the changes as they happened through the words of the church authorities over the years.  If there are facts, sources, or arguments you’d like me to consider while I develop this article (no matter which side of the mormon/non-mormon issue you’re on) please feel free to send them my way.  Actually don’t “feel free,” just send them to jefferson.aablog@gmail.com or link them in the comments below.

Also, in preparation, please take a moment to watch one or both of the videos I’m posting in the next article.

Thanks!

-Jefferson-

What do you think?

